All transactions require original signed documents. Faxed, scanned or emailed copies are not acceptable and signatures must be in ink. Information is based on actual owner transactions. For questions contact Williamson County Tax Assessor/Collectors office at 512-943-1602.
Texas Department of Motor Vehicles requires an applicant for title or initial registration to present a current photo identification of the owner containing a unique identification number and expiration date. The identification document must be one of the following identification documents:
- Driver’s license or state identification certificate issued by a state or territory of the United States;
- United States passport or foreign passport; United States military identification card;
- North Atlantic Treaty Organization identification;
- Identification issued under a Status of Forces Agreement;
- United States Department of Homeland Security identification document;
- United States Citizenship and Immigration Services identification document; or
- United States Department of State identification document.
Owners should take the following to their county tax office:
1) VIR from a Texas vehicle inspection station. Verify that the vehicle identification number on the form matches your vehicle information. No alterations or errors will be accepted. Inspection station locater and information.
2) Your original out of state title or current last registration receipt.
3) Completed Application for Texas Title form VTR-130U. Form must be completed even if you are not surrendering your out of state title.
- If there is a lien on the vehicle you will also need to provide the lien holders information on the 130U form.
4) Proof of current Texas liability insurance or out of state insurance that meets or exceeds the Texas Requirements (may be listed on your insurance declaration page). The minimum amount of coverage required by the State of Texas:
- $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident
- $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident
- $25,000 for property destruction or damage to others in one accident
5) Government issued photo identification. Vehicles will be titled and/or registered in the legal name as it appears on the identification. Please read the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles identification rules effective September 2013.
6) If vehicle is being imported from overseas, Mexico or Canada click here for additional information.
7) You may also need to provide sales tax verification if a vehicle has been previously registered and titled by you in another state. If you are transferring title into your name from a recent purchase you will pay Texas sales tax (6.25%) which replaces the new resident fee listed below. Texas law changed on October 1, 2006 for the base amount used to calculate sales tax. See Standard Presumptive Value.
New resident fees may include: title, registration and sales tax. For fee information, visit our fee page.
To view New Resident procedures on the TXDMV Web site, click here.